My Little Blue Flag

The front of my pack. Representing the good ol' State of Maine!

The front of my pack. Representing the good ol’ State of Maine!

My favorite part of my pack? The part I won’t see for 90% of my day. The back. The part 100% of the hikers behind me will see. I’ll be the girl with the little Maine flag pinned to her pack. To me, it’s a reminder. A reminder of where I’m from and where I’m headed on this 2,185.9 mile journey: Home.

Every morning, every lunch break, every night I’ll see my little blue flag of the great State of Maine. I hope it proves to be a constant source of motivation and a reminder of all the friends and family I leave behind at home who are cheering us on during our hike. Born and raised in Maine, I hope that I’m lucky enough to complete my journey in this beautiful state I call home.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “My Little Blue Flag

  1. jaxtraw says:

    Dirigo (Latin “I lead”).

    Wiki excerpt:
    The resolutions adopting the seal upon which this motto appears, give some insight into the meaning intended by the state motto: “…as the Polar Star has been considered the mariner’s guide and director in conducting the ship over the pathless ocean to the desired haven, and as the center of magnetic attraction; as it has been figuratively used to denote the point, to which all affections turn, and as it is here intended to represent the State, it may be considered the citizens’ guide, and the object to which the patriot’s best exertions should be directed”.

    I think the “figuratively used to denote the point, to which all affections turn” is especially poignant given your quest and stated rationale for your “little Maine flag”.

    amore,papa 😉

    • linzgordo says:

      I like it! Nice Wiki find. I hadn’t read this description before and it is very fitting for our hike. “To which all affections turn.” I may use this in one of my future posts if you don’t mind. I’ll give you the credit 😉

Leave a Reply

Thin Mint Hikes

2014 Appalachian Trail Thru Hike

a girl, a trail, and one crazy adventure

raylynn's journey north on the appalachian trail

The Hiking ATVs

The Appalachian Trail Vegans

Trail Mix and Dirty Underwear

Kristin and Eric Hike the AT

Gray Loon's a.k.a. Byron's Trip

Appalachian Trail Adventure

Over 2000 Miles

Not all those who wander are lost.

tandem trekking

live vicariously

Fun Sized AT Adventure

"In every walk with nature, one receives far more than he seeks." -John Muir

Baja's 2013 AT Thru Hike

What's between Georgia and Maine?...5 Million Steps!

363 HOUSE

john gordon | architect....maine.

Wood Thrush Hikes

nemophilist (n.) a haunter of the woods; one who loves the forest and its beauty and solitude.

WW II in the Pacific with Bill Sadd

Touring Iwo Jima ...Saipan ... Guam

My Meandering Trail

Jordana's Hiking Adventures: Appalachian Trail Thru-Hike 2013

LaTour Life

adventure | journey | life

walk wildly

wilderness immersion + yoga + ceremony + healing

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

