Day 49: Wapiti Shelter to Pearisburg, VA

May 1, 2013

Today’s mileage: 17.6
Total mileage: 630.8

We set the alarm this morning to make sure we could get into Pearisburg before the post office closed at 4:30. The miles of hiking along ridge lines and through a controlled burn section were quick. We were able to take a nice lunch break at Docs Knob Shelter before finishing out our day. In the shelter they had a map of Virginia and an illustrated page of different snakes. It was interesting to look at the map and see how far we’ve hiked already in Virginia. We are approaching West Virginia, although we won’t be hiking in that state for a few hundred more miles. Soon, we will start heading northeast.

We had heard from a lot of people that we should stay at Woods Hole Hostel. Regrettably, we didn’t stay there. I wish we had planned it out better, that way we could have stayed there for a night, but now it will give us a good reason to visit the area and stay there in the future. ๐Ÿ™‚

I saw three snakes today as we descended into Pearisburg. I’m trying to be better about snakes now that I know I’ll see several while we’re out here. They still scared me when I first saw them, but I just calmly walked by as they slithered away. I’m trying slowly to get over my fear.

We made into Pearisburg around 3:45 and headed to the post office before getting a hotel room. I was really excited when I opened up one of the boxes from my mom when I found a container of homemade chocolate chip cookies inside! It didn’t take long for each of us to eat two cookies straight out of the box. My mom sent us a lot of good food and will allow us to buy a bit less at the grocery store. Thanks mom! I also got a few summer clothing items that I’m going to swap out with some winter gear. My Ex Officio convertible pants had developed a hole in a key location, so the arrival of my soccer pants in the mail was superb timing. I’m going to switch over to hiking in soccer shorts now that the weather is warmer. I’m still debating as to whether I want to send home my sleeping bag liner and winter hat. It’s not really that cold anymore, but we have had a few chilly nights recently. Along with my new pants, I had a short sleeve shirt and another pair of soccer shorts sent so that I can send home my Under Armour thermals. Now, I will have one set of shorts and t-shirt for sleeping and one for hiking.

I finally did it. I shaved my armpits. I lasted over seven weeks shave-free, but the hair had to go. With the hotter weather approaching and the inevitability of sleeveless shirts, I couldn’t do if any longer. I had my reservations at first, but once I did it, I had no regrets. Almost two months without shaving is most certainly a record for me however. I hope shaving isn’t a curse or anything out here. I’ll be toast. I shaved my legs too. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

We had a good dinner and some beer at the Mexican restaurant in town and now we’re enjoying my mom’s cookies and the NBA playoffs. We’re taking a zero tomorrow and will be doing our usual duties in town. Laundry is already done and we took our first real showers since Damascus. Resupplying, reorganizing, and restocking our packs tomorrow. The number of hikers seems to have thinned out a lot since Damascus. I’m not sure if everyone is spread out more, if we’ve gotten ahead of a lot of people, or more have dropped out. We just heard that one of our friends behind us may have fractured his foot, so we are hoping that he’s doing okay.

Enjoy some photos from our first couple of weeks in Virginia courtesy of Miles:

20130502-235331.jpg

20130502-235340.jpg

20130502-235352.jpg

20130502-235358.jpg

20130502-235407.jpg

20130502-235414.jpg

20130502-235423.jpg

20130502-235435.jpg

20130502-235442.jpg

20130502-235448.jpg

20130502-235549.jpg

20130502-235600.jpg

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “Day 49: Wapiti Shelter to Pearisburg, VA

  1. Edith Prince says:

    I wonder if you have seen my son, Scott? He goes by Sherpa on the trail. He started March 23, but seems to have caught up with you and was at Pearisburg yesterday. It seems you are hiking in close proximity. I am enjoying your blog very much.

  2. Barbara 'Mamaw B" Allen says:

    Flash, Still enjoying your journal which is the best. I encountered many turtles and they were always going SOBO which gave me a laugh becaue they know where the good country is. ๐Ÿ™‚ The privy in the open at the Chestnut Knob had leaning walls last year. Some have said there is no water at that site but there is a nice spring out in the open grass but you have to look around to find it. Don’t be too quick to send the long underwear home. I carried mine all the way. If you get wet and cold you can always use it. However, if you have a warm bag they might not be needed as much. Use you head and do what seems best for you. Tell Miles I said “hello” and I tell folks to follow you two for a good journal. Glad you two are having fun and I know you will continue to do so. Love to both or you.
    Mamaw B

  3. Gene and George says:

    LOVE the pictures – such really lovely scenery. The turtle is handsome, but where are the snakes?

  4. Denise Gordon says:

    Glad you liked the cookies!!! I bet they are gone by now????? I will do more soon, just tell me your request. Does the food arrive in good shape or does it get smashed? Happy you made it to Pearisburg and get a day off to chill. I haven’t opened my card yet, but tomorrow I will! Thanks for thinking of me while out on your adventure. You look really healthy and strong out there in the wilderness, keep up the good work, Lindsey. Love you!!! MOM

Leave a Reply

Thin Mint Hikes

2014 Appalachian Trail Thru Hike

a girl, a trail, and one crazy adventure

raylynn's journey north on the appalachian trail

The Hiking ATVs

The Appalachian Trail Vegans

Trail Mix and Dirty Underwear

Kristin and Eric Hike the AT

Gray Loon's a.k.a. Byron's Trip

Appalachian Trail Adventure

Over 2000 Miles

Not all those who wander are lost.

tandem trekking

live vicariously

Fun Sized AT Adventure

"In every walk with nature, one receives far more than he seeks." -John Muir

Baja's 2013 AT Thru Hike

What's between Georgia and Maine?...5 Million Steps!

363 HOUSE

john gordon | architect....maine.

Wood Thrush Hikes

nemophilist (n.) a haunter of the woods; one who loves the forest and its beauty and solitude.

WW II in the Pacific with Bill Sadd

Touring Iwo Jima ...Saipan ... Guam

My Meandering Trail

Jordana's Hiking Adventures: Appalachian Trail Thru-Hike 2013

LaTour Life

adventure | journey | life

walk wildly

wilderness immersion + yoga + ceremony + healing

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

