Day 90: George W. Outerbridge Shelter to Leroy A. Smith Shelter

June 12, 2013

Today’s mileage: 16.7
Total mileage: 1269.1

After resupplying in Walnutport and getting breakfast at McDonalds, we had a steep and rocky climb up from Lehigh Valley. It was all exposed boulders and I enjoyed climbing up and over the rocks, the wind blowing in my face. The rest of the hiking today was not as much fun. The small rocks hurt my already worn out feet. The 16.7 miles today felt like a lot longer.

We hiked near a Superfund site where they are resorting a zinc smelting area along the mountain above the valley. It wasn’t as barren as I thought it would be and the new vegetation they introduced seemed to be doing well. We had to hike along the Superfund Detour due to restoration. Everyone found so many ticks on them today. I only found two on me, but Miles found eight!

We saw a ton of thru-hikers today. It’s like we’re back in North Carolina where you see 15 to 20 people a day, if not more. We have caught up to a lot of people that we hadn’t met before, but also saw a few people that we’ve hiked with before.

The best part of the day was our two wildlife sightings this afternoon. We encountered a rattlesnake just off the trail! It certainly let us know that it was there. Coiled up by a tree, it shook its rattler several times. I was nervous to pass by, but he just rattled at me and I survived. Phew! Not five minutes later, we saw a bear not too far ahead on the trail! This was the closest that we’ve seen a bear so far. It was just passing through and glanced at us for a few moments. As it walked off the trail, we made our presence known by talking a bit. It stared at us from off trail as we hiked by, only curious as to what was passing through. The bear didn’t scare me at all; the snake was definitely more threatening.

We are sleeping in a full shelter tonight and hoping to stay dry before the big rainstorm we’re supposed to get tomorrow. We are attempting to wake up very early to beat out the worst part of the storm. Wish us luck. We may need it. Especially for waking up at the crack of dawn. I’m not looking forward to that.

It’s hard to believe that we’re almost done hiking in Pennsylvania. I hope we can make it to the border by tomorrow afternoon. Our motivation is a hot dog dinner hosted by a local church. Bring on the dogs!

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “Day 90: George W. Outerbridge Shelter to Leroy A. Smith Shelter

  1. Dave Glidden says:

    Maybe instead of ‘chick magnet’ Miles should be known as a ‘tick magnet’?

  2. Denise Gordon says:

    You are doing great, and sorry about your feet hurting due to many rocks. I will give you a foot massage on your birthday, something to look forward to. It is so unbelievable to me that you have walked so far. Have to pack tomorrow for our big trip to meet up with you. xo

  3. Scott ladd says:

    Looks like rain all day and maybe into the night. Sorry

  4. Gene and George says:

    Lions and tigers and BEARS, oh my!

  5. Debbie Vess says:

    Lindsay and Miles, Joe wants to know how you find out what to look forward to – like hot dogs at the church…

  6. Phys Ed says:

    I hope you have done all right with the storms today! I am in Port Clinton……hope I catch up with you. I am meeting my brother in Wind Gap and he is hiking with me to High Point, NJ. I will have to cover less mileage with him, but if you zero with your parents, maybe I will see you! I just signed up for your blog, so I can keep track of where you are! PhysEd

Leave a Reply

Thin Mint Hikes

2014 Appalachian Trail Thru Hike

a girl, a trail, and one crazy adventure

raylynn's journey north on the appalachian trail

The Hiking ATVs

The Appalachian Trail Vegans

Trail Mix and Dirty Underwear

Kristin and Eric Hike the AT

Gray Loon's a.k.a. Byron's Trip

Appalachian Trail Adventure

Over 2000 Miles

Not all those who wander are lost.

tandem trekking

live vicariously

Fun Sized AT Adventure

"In every walk with nature, one receives far more than he seeks." -John Muir

Baja's 2013 AT Thru Hike

What's between Georgia and Maine?...5 Million Steps!

363 HOUSE

john gordon | architect....maine.

Wood Thrush Hikes

nemophilist (n.) a haunter of the woods; one who loves the forest and its beauty and solitude.

WW II in the Pacific with Bill Sadd

Touring Iwo Jima ...Saipan ... Guam

My Meandering Trail

Jordana's Hiking Adventures: Appalachian Trail Thru-Hike 2013

LaTour Life

adventure | journey | life

walk wildly

wilderness immersion + yoga + ceremony + healing

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

