Day 139: Piazza Rock Lean-To to Spaulding Mountain Lean-To

July 31, 2013

Today’s mileage: 16.9
Total mileage: 1984.2

Somehow, we were lucky enough to have two beautiful days in a row. I’m weary of these nice weather stretches. I always have a feeling that they’re not going to last very long.

It was a cool, sunny morning at the base of Saddleback. We left later than we wanted to, around 8:15, but we were too tired to leave any earlier. The climb up Saddleback wasn’t bad at all, even though it was our biggest climb of the day. Once we got above tree line, we encountered several false peaks. The wind was blowing and I was a little cold even with my long-sleeve shirt on. I pulled my buff down over my ears as I gazed out from the mountain that I only knew in the winter. I’ve skied at Saddleback since I was five years old, so it was cool to climb up the mountain in the summer rather than take the chairlift up in the winter. It provided an entirely new perspective to the area. I knew where I had come from and where I was going. I knew what was ahead because I could point out Sugarloaf about fifteen miles away, where we would be tomorrow. Sugarloaf is another mountain that I’ve skied at for almost my entire life. It’s where I learned to downhill ski and where I have skied countless times with my family and friends. Being on top of Saddleback looking over to Sugarloaf was an awesome view for a skier. It got me excited for winter and coming back out to western Maine to ski in a few months.

After climbing down Saddleback, we had a short, but steep climb up to The Horn. The granite had dried out a lot in the past two days, so even though there were some steep sections, we fared well going up and down the mountains. We took a break at Redington Campsite before taking on our next climb up to Saddleback Junior. We met up with Hooker, Rabbit, Wiki, and ZZ Topless on the summit. It’s nice to have a group of hikers still around to hang out with in the morning, during breaks, and at night. I wasn’t sure how many people would be around us in Maine since the trail has thinned out, but we’re all planning to finish around the same time, so I hope we’ll all be seeing each other quite a bit these last couple of weeks. They’re laid back and we enjoy hanging out with them. I forgot to mention that Jessica and Todd gave them all, with the exception of Hooker, a ride back to the trail in Andover. We all piled into their van like sardines, my 9 month-old nephew Louie and I in the way back and the guys all on the floor in the middle. Todd rolled the windows down to give us all some air from the hiker smell. Louie was making faces as we drove the down the road. I’m still trying to figure out if it was in reaction to the wind or from the stench.

After a quick break at a lean-to to sign the log book, we met an MATC (Maine Appalachian Trail Club) volunteer who was painting fresh white blazes on the trees and rocks. We talked about the missing hiker, who went missing in the area we were hiking in this afternoon. He even told us the trick to painting the perfect white blaze. Instead of using a two inch brush, which is the width of a blaze, he said the key was using a 1.5 inch wide brush. He measures it four times down the blaze to make sure it’s an even 6 inches long and then paints in the edges. We thanked him for his time as a volunteer and we were careful not to hike over the freshly painted blazes on the granite.

We pounded out the last miles of the day, avoiding a stream ford by rock-hopping and cruising through the flat section after Lone Mountain. All of the guys are here from last night and another group of kids. We are tenting near the shelter. We’re tired after a few long days and looking forward to a shorter day tomorrow.

Talking to everyone around us, we’re all ready to finish. Not to discount our experience one bit, but we’re tired and quite honestly, we’ve been out here a long time. I know that we will miss the trail once we leave, but right now, we’re all focused on finishing. And with 200 miles to go, it’s hard not to think about the end. It’s so close!

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Day 139: Piazza Rock Lean-To to Spaulding Mountain Lean-To

  1. Sit a Bit says:

    Ok, for the raw skin, go into Monson (Shaw’s will give you a shuttle to the grocery store) and get a couple of tubes of Neosporin and some gauze and athletic tape at the grocery store. Apply liberally on the raw skin and cover with the gauze and tape. Change the dressing in the morning and the evening. It will help stop the pain and keep infection from setting in, and will probably clear it up by the time you get to Katahdin. I had the same problem (extremely bad) by the time I hit Monson and did that and it cleared up by the time I hit the Birches. Take a zero in Monson, and take 5 days, not 4, to hike the 100 mile wilderness. I figure at the rate you are going you will be in Monson by the 5th, take a zero on the 6th, be at the birches by 12 (if you spend the night at the state park at Abol bridge – very nice camp site along the Penobscot, with showers across the Golden Road at the Abol RV park, and hot food at Abol Bridge Camp store and restaraunt) and Summit on the 13. Done in 12 days. What you are feeling is normal. It all changes after Monson. At Abol the feeling is unexplainable, and at the Birches, well you’ll see for yourself.

  2. Kristin says:

    You’re almost there!!! Wow, the grit you have to keep going day after day…. just super awesome. 🙂

  3. avery.brott@gmail.com says:

    You guys are motoring. I was hoping to get up there to see you top out on Katahdin but if Sit a Bit’s estimate is accurate, it looks like you’ll finish before I get done with this hitch offshore.

    I’ve had the pleasure of being at the summit a couple of times when thru-hikers finish their trip and their joy at finishing and pride of accomplishment are indescribable. Hopefully yours will be, too.

    I’m not looking forward to the dearth of updates when you start to lose your cell signal…

Leave a Reply

Thin Mint Hikes

2014 Appalachian Trail Thru Hike

a girl, a trail, and one crazy adventure

raylynn's journey north on the appalachian trail

The Hiking ATVs

The Appalachian Trail Vegans

Trail Mix and Dirty Underwear

Kristin and Eric Hike the AT

Gray Loon's a.k.a. Byron's Trip

Appalachian Trail Adventure

Over 2000 Miles

Not all those who wander are lost.

tandem trekking

live vicariously

Fun Sized AT Adventure

"In every walk with nature, one receives far more than he seeks." -John Muir

Baja's 2013 AT Thru Hike

What's between Georgia and Maine?...5 Million Steps!

363 HOUSE

john gordon | architect....maine.

Wood Thrush Hikes

nemophilist (n.) a haunter of the woods; one who loves the forest and its beauty and solitude.

WW II in the Pacific with Bill Sadd

Touring Iwo Jima ...Saipan ... Guam

My Meandering Trail

Jordana's Hiking Adventures: Appalachian Trail Thru-Hike 2013

LaTour Life

adventure | journey | life

walk wildly

wilderness immersion + yoga + ceremony + healing

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Hiking Acorn

Tales of Blisters and Bears

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

